THE CORPORATION OF THE TOWN OF COBALT

SPECIAL MEETING COBALT COMMUNITY HALL February 15, 2023 at 6:30 p.m. MINUTES

Present:

Mayor: Mita Gibson

Councillors: Pat Anderson

Angela Hunter Gary Hughes Jim Starchuk Doug Wilcox

Harry Cooper (via zoom)

Staff: S. Dalley, Town Manager/Clerk-Treasurer

D. Taylor, Deputy Clerk-Treasurer

A. Williams, Public Works Superintendent

E. Franks, Municipal Intern

1. <u>Call to Order:</u>

Mayor Gibson called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m.

2. Disclosure of Pecuniary Interest and the General Nature Thereof

Mayor Gibson declared a conflict of interest with item #4.2 Library Board Applicants – spouse has applied to be a Library Board member.

3. Approval/Amendment of the Agenda

RESOLUTION No. 2023-42
MOVED BY: D. Wilcox
SECONDED BY: P. Anderson

BE IT RESOLVED THAT Council Cooper be permitted to participate in the Special Meeting of Council on February 15, 2023 via electronic device.

CARRIED

RESOLUTION No. 2023-43
MOVED BY: D. Wilcox
SECONDED BY: G. Hughes

BE IT RESOLVED THAT Council approve the agenda of the Special Meeting dated February 15, 2023 as presented.

CARRIED

4. Business

4.1 Library By-Law

RESOLUTION No. 2023-44
MOVED BY: D. Wilcox
SECONDED BY: G. Hughes

BE IT RESOLVED THAT Council adopt By-Law No. 2023-05 being a By-Law to Establish a Public Library be taken as read a first, second and third time and passed this 15th day of February, 2023;

AND FURTHER THAT the said By-Law be signed and sealed by the Mayor and Clerk.

No vote taken, to be presented at the Regular Meeting of February 15, 2023.

RESOLUTION No. 2023-45

MOVED BY: P. Anderson SECONDED BY: A. Hunter

BE IT RESOLVED THAT By-Law 89-18 being a By-Law to change the size of the Public Library Board be amended to the following:

That the Town of Cobalt Library Board (the "Library Board") shall be composed of seven (7) members appointed by Council, up to three (3) of seven (7) Library Board Members may be Members of Council.

CARRIED

4.2 Library Board Applicants

RESOLUTION No. 2023-46

MOVED BY: J. Starchuk
SECONDED BY: P. Anderson

BE IT RESOLVED THAT Council for the Town of Cobalt directs that a Board of Directors for the Cobalt Public Library composed of seven (7) members be appointed from the following applicants:

Jenny Adshead Trina Breault Jennifer Cowell Tamara Fishely Jennifer Gabriel Ken Lillie Jennifer Pereira Sabrina Somersall

Mayor Gibson declared a Conflict of Interest, did not participate in the discussion and did not vote. Mayor Gibson appointed Deputy Mayor D. Wilcox as Chair.

- 1.
- Doug Wilcox (Council Representative) Township of Coleman (Council Representative) 2.
- Trina Breault 3.
- Jennifer Cowell 4.
- 5. Tamara Fishley
- Ken Lillie 6.
- 7. Jenny Adshead

CARRIED

Mayor Gibson returned to the meeting.

5. <u>Adjournment</u>

RESOLUTION No. 2023-47 MOVED BY: D. Wilcox SECONDED BY: J. Starchuk

BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Special Meeting of Council be adjourned at 7:14 p.m.

CARRIED
Mayor
Ol- al
Clerk